See what changes were made for each project, when and by whom. This lets you identify if a project's details are up to date.
- How to Find the Change Log
- How the Change Log Works
How to Find the Change Log
To access the Change Log, you need to have the Access Change Log right.
You can open the Change Log for projects either in the Portfolio Designer or in a project's details. Click the round blue button in the top right to hide or show the Change Log.
How the Change Log Works
The Change Log allows you to keep a history of all changes made to a project. Each Change Log entry contains the following information:
- Who (name and profile picture)
- When (date and time depending on your browser settings)
- (detail that was changed)
- (old value and new value (changes in rank and rank category do not display the old value))
The Change Log only displays changes to the selected project, not all changes made to all projects in a portfolio or scenario.
Changes began being logged as of 11/10/2020 which is when the Change Log was released. Changes made before this date have not been logged.
Changes are still being logged even when no users have the access right to view them. As soon as you grant a user group access to the Change Log, those users will be able to see all changes logged including those made before they were granted the right.
If a user is deactivated, their changes will still be displayed and their name will be changed to "Deactivated User".
All logged changes will be visible independent of date range settings.
Which Changes Are Logged?
Changes made to project data are logged for each project as follows:
- Project Fields: Users will only see changes to fields for which they have at least read only rights.
- Financial Events: Since financial events do not have names, they are identified by their Due Date. If the Due Date is changed, the financial event is identified by its Timing in this entry.
- Changes in timing: e.g., moving, extending or shortening a project
- Adding or Removing a Project from a Program
The following types of changes made are logged:
- Manual Changes: made in a project's details, the Board View or in the Portfolio Designer
- Changes made using the REST API
- Changes made using the Zapier
- Changes made using the Quick Import
Only the change itself and not the source of a change is logged.
Previous change entries of deleted project data (e.g., milestones) remain in the Change Log. In place of the name, "(deleted)" is added to the project data (e.g., "(deleted milestone)").
For details on the Change Log for Program Changes, see the Working with Programs article.
Which Changes Are Not Logged?
The following changes are not logged:
- Milestone Dependencies
- Project Segments
- Apply from/Submit to Plan of Record: Submitting a single project or a complete scenario to the Plan of Record is not logged. Neither is applying a single program change from the plan of Record to a scenario.
- Auto-Schedule: changes made to the start and finish date by using the Auto-Schedule feature
- Additional information when adding projects: When a project is added manually via Add Project, only the Name, Start and Finish are noted in the Change Log entry. Additional information such as project manager (in the Portfolio Designer, Board View and Goals View) or the value of the current project field (in the Board View) are not noted in the entry.
Changes made by the following imports are not logged in the Change Log:
- SOAP API
- Excel Template
Understanding How Entries Are Displayed
To structure the Change Log for projects as clearly as possible, we have optimized the display of entries as follows:
- All changes that are made within one minute are grouped together in one entry.
- Only direct changes are logged, not the changes that follow from them (e.g., when changing a project’s timing, the Change Log only displays the moving of the project, but the resulting changes to allocations will not be logged).
- When you change the name of a project detail, the entire Change Log displays the current name, even in older entries. This allows you to more easily locate previous change entries for this project detail.