Question: How can I undo an action in Meisterplan?
Answer: You can revert some specific actions back to their previous state, but not all.
Undo Latest Action in the Gantt Chart of the Portfolio Designer
In the toolbar of the Portfolio Designer, the button Undo allows you to undo the very last action made to the selected project. This option is available for the following actions in the Gantt chart:
- Reschedule project
- Extend with allocation
- Extend without allocation
- Stretch or shrink project
- Shorten project
- Change milestone date
When the button is active, you can use CTRL+Z instead of Undo.
Undo Actions in the Team Planner
In the Team Planner's toolbar, you can find the Undo button, which you can use to undo the last 99 actions that you have performed. You can undo the following actions in the Team Planner:
- allocation Changes through inline edit
- copy/cut/paste Actions
- deleting allocations
- adding a role or resource to a project
- removing a resource or a role from a project
You can also select CTRL+Z instead of clicking Undo.
- any action in the Staff Role mode
- Unstaff to role
If you leave and return to the Team Planner view, you will not be able to undo any previous actions.
Change Log for Projects and Programs
If you want to reset a project to its former state, you can see in the Change Log for Projects which data was changed, when it was changed and what the old value was. This helps you change the relevant data back to their former state.
The Change Log is also available for Program Changes.
Scenario Dependent Data
Sometimes you may make changes in the Plan of Record or a scenario that you would like to revert. In this case, use the Plan of Record or scenario with the correct data to revert the change.
If you want to change a scenario dependent project and its allocations in the Plan of Record to match how said project and allocations are recorded in a scenario, you can submit the project from the scenario to the Plan of Record.
If you want to change a scenario dependent project and its allocations in a scenario to match how said project and allocations are recorded in the Plan of Record, apply the project from the Plan of Record to the scenario.
Only some project data can be reverted using this method. See here for more information.
You can also replace the Plan of Record with a scenario. This action cannot be undone, so please make sure that all the data in the scenario is correct and that no portfolio filters are active before replacing the Plan of Record.
Cancelling an Action
When you are in the middle of performing an action, for example, extending or shortening a project in the Gantt chart, or moving a project using drag and drop, you can cancel this action by pressing "Esc" on your keyboard and the project will remain unchanged. If you are in the middle of editing an allocation segment, you can cancel the changes by pressing "Esc" or "Ctrl+Z" and the segment will revert to the previous value.
Cancelling an action only works during the action, not after it has been completed.
Data Recovery Through Our Support
There is also an option to restore your complete data by contacting our Customer Success team. Please note that this option will be at your expense. You can find all details in the Recovery article.
Configuring User Rights
Configure your user rights to only grant users access to the data they are allowed to edit. This helps you avoid errors by inexperienced or unauthorized users.