Synchronize project fields between Meisterplan projects and their linked Planner projects. Which fields can be synchronized depends on the synchronization direction. This keeps your projects up to date in both tools.
Prerequisites
To synchronize project fields between Meisterplan and Planner Premium, your Planner Premium instance must be linked to Meisterplan.
Required User Rights in Meisterplan
To configure Planner Premium links, your user group must have the Configure permission under Manage > User Groups > Integrations > Connected Tools > Project and Task Management Tools.
To synchronize project fields between Meisterplan and Planner Premium, an Automation User is required. This user must have the following rights under Manage > User Groups:
- Under Integrations > Connected Tools > Project and Task Management Tools, the Configure right
- Under Project and Resource Planning > Edit Projects the option All
- Under Views & Scenarios > Scenarios, the Edit Plan of Record right
- Under Project and Resource Planning > Project Fields:
- For synchronization to Planner Premium: Read Only rights for the respective field
- For synchronization to Meisterplan: Edit rights for the respective field
- Under Integrations, the Import Data right
Required User Rights in Planner Premium
You need to have a Microsoft Planner account with a Premium license.
Configure Field Mappings
For each Planner Premium link, you can define which fields should be synchronized between Meisterplan and Planner Premium.
- Open the relevant Planner Premium link under Integrations > Jira.
- In the Field Synchronization with Planner Premium Projects section, click Add Project Field to Sync and select the desired Meisterplan field:
- Select the Direction of synchronization and map a Planner Premium Field to the Meisterplan field. Which fields can be synchronized depends on the selected synchronization direction.
- Confirm your selection using the checkmark at the end of the row and save the Planner Premium link.
What Is Imported / Updated
Changes to the Meisterplan fields Name and Start are immediately updated in Planner Premium.
If a Planner Premium field is changed to a value that does not exist in Meisterplan, the value is created in Meisterplan and added to the respective field. For example, if the Status field in Meisterplan has the values 'Red', 'Yellow', and 'Green', but the mapped Planner Premium field is set to 'Blue', this value is added in Meisterplan and the field is updated accordingly.
If a Meisterplan field is changed to a value that does not exist in Planner Premium, no update occurs.
When Data Is Imported / Updated
Changes to Meisterplan fields are updated in Planner Premium immediately.
Changes to Planner Premium fields are applied to the Plan of Record every night. In addition, a project is also updated when you select it in Meisterplan or click Refresh Data in the toolbar of the Information Panel.
If you adjust the field mapping of a Planner Premium link, the affected fields in both Meisterplan and Planner Premium are updated immediately.
Edit and Delete Field Mappings
To edit a field mapping, hover over the row and click the field you want to change.
To delete a field mapping, hover over the row and click the trash can icon at the end of the row.
Your changes to the Planner Premium link are only saved after you click Apply in the top-right corner.
Fields
Which Meisterplan Project Fields Can Be Selected
You can select all system and custom project fields of the following field types:
- Checkbox
- Currency
- Date
- Single-Select
- Number
- Resource
- Text (single-line)
- Text (multi-line)
- URL
Which Planner Premium Fields Can Be Selected
You can select all fields of your Planner Premium configuration of the following field types:
- Date
- Text
- URL
- Number
- Yes/no
- Choice
- Person
- Currency
Which Fields Types Can Be Matched
You can only map fields of certain field types to each other. Once you have selected a Meisterplan project field, only the Planner Premium fields that can be mapped to the Meisterplan field are displayed in the corresponding row.
For synchronization from Meisterplan to Planner Premium, only the Name and Start fields can be synchronized. For synchronization from Planner Premium to Meisterplan, the following field type combinations are supported:
| Meisterplan Project Field | Planner Premium Field |
| Checkbox | Yes/no |
| Date | Date |
| Single-Select | Choice |
| Resource | Person |
| Text (single-line) | Text, URL |
| Text (multi-line) | Text, URL |
| URL | Text, URL |
| Currency | currency, number |
| Number | currency, number |
Default Mappings
When you add a new Planner Premium link, the following field mappings are created automatically:
| Meisterplan Field | Planner Premium-Feld |
| Name | Name |
| Start | Start Date |
| Finish | Finish Date |
You can delete and edit the default mappings as needed.