This article describes how you move projects and programs, how moving affects allocations and how the zoom level affects the time grid for moving.
To move a project or program you need at least the access level User as well as the Change Project Schedule right. Administrators can select editing rights under Manage > Users.
The effects of a move on the allocations of project members are constantly displayed in the allocation histograms in the resource view, before, during and after the move.
If you want to move a project or program to a date not shown in the Gantt chart, you can select a wider Date Range.
Moving a Project
Proceed as follows to move a project:
- Click the project bar in the interactive Gantt chart, hold the mouse button and drag the project to the desired start point. While you are moving the project, the new values for the Start and Finish fields will be displayed in a hint.
- Release the mouse button to assign the values displayed for the Start and Finish fields to the project.
Moving a Program
Moving a program works exactly like moving a project:
- Click the program bar in the interactive Gantt chart, hold the mouse button and drag the program to the desired start point. While you are moving the program, the new values for the Start and Finish fields as well as the number of affected projects will be displayed in a hint.
- Release the mouse button to assign the values displayed for the Start and Finish fields to the program. All associated projects will be moved accordingly.
Moving and Allocations
When moving a project or program, allocation segments of that project or of projects in that program will always retain their allocation values with respect to the selected project allocation unit.
Due to the nature of the FTE calculation, retaining the FTE value when moving a project will change the days and hours when a project is moved into a period with more or less work days during the project duration.
On the other hand, when Days or Hours are selected and are therefore retained when a project is moved, this will result in a higher or lower FTE value when a project is moved into a period with more or less work days during the project duration.
Please note that segments displayed in the Time Grid mode will only be saved once values are entered for them. Connected segments with the same FTE value or with the same absolute value per work day (days or hours) will be regarded as a single segment. The entered workload will automatically be distributed equally over the displayed segments. When the associated project is moved, the allocation value of the actual segment will stay the same, depending on the selected unit (FTE or days/hours). Due to the even distribution in the Time Grid mode, when selecting an absolute allocation unit (days or hours), moving, for example, a project spanning multiple weeks from a week with a public holiday to a timespan without any holidays can result in a change of allocation values per period.
The following table shows which values are retained and which may vary when you move a project, depending on the selected project allocation unit:
Project Allocation Unit
|FTE||FTE retained; days and hours may vary.|
|Days||Days and hours retained; FTE may vary.|
|Hours||Days and hours retained; FTE may vary.|
Snapping by Zoom Level
Depending on your selected zoom level, projects and programs will move with monthly, weekly or daily precision. When moving by month or by week, the start date will snap to the start of each month or week and additionally to the original start date.
Snap behavior holding [SHIFT]
|Quarter||To month||To month|
|Month||To day||To month|