This article describes who can access portfolios and how to select, manage and create portfolios in the Portfolio Manager in Meisterplan.
Portfolio properties and filters are described in the Edit Portfolio article.
Access to Portfolios
Creating, editing and deleting portfolios requires the Administrator, Data Manager or Portfolio Manager access level.
Administrators may see, edit and delete all portfolios defined in the system.
Data Managers and Portfolio Managers may see, edit and delete portfolios they have created themselves or that are shared with them.
Users of any access level (except Deactivated) may see and select portfolios that are shared with them.
Opening the Portfolio Manager
Open the portfolio manager by selecting Manage Portfolios from the Portfolio menu in the header.
The portfolio manager will display all portfolios currently available:
- For each portfolio, the total cost budget and target benefit are displayed.
- For each portfolio, you can see whether a project and resource filter are active.
- For each portfolio, the date and time of the last update are displayed.
Default All Projects Portfolio
Initially, only the default All Projects portfolio will be available. It has no project or resource filter and therefore spans the full plan of record, and is shared with all users by default.
The All Projects portfolio is not required for Meisterplan to work and may be edited or deleted. However, at least one portfolio must exist and be assigned to users for them to be able to log in.
Also, the Must-Have and Cut-Off lines may only be moved in portfolios without a project filter, so you may wish to keep at least one portfolio without a project filter, even if you delete the All Projects portfolio.
Using a Portfolio
Double-click a portfolio or select it and click Use Portfolio to open it in Meisterplan.
Editing or Deleting a Portfolio
Hover over a portfolio to display buttons for editing or deleting it.
Adding a Portfolio
Click on Add Portfolio to add a new portfolio.